I mean, what’s the point?

I’m back from my enforced absence. I’ve just started playing so canb’t make any comments on the new content from 2.4 yet. But while I was away I got an offer that has stuck with me.

I guy I know asked if I wanted to play WoW on a private server.  Huh?  They have private servers?  Is that like private clubs that are so exclusive that only the best and brightest players can get in?  Do you pay extra for the priviledge to roll on a server that only lets in real RPers?  I know some people who would love that.  Or is this like one of those New York bondage clubs where you have to know someone to get in and it’s all ERPs?

NO!

It’s someone setting up a server at home for a few people and modding the server.  The selling point made to me was that we could level from 1 to 70 in a few hours, without having to put in the work to get to that level.  So…why would I want to do this?  It would take all the challenge and sense of accomplishment out of the game.  All the fun and socializing.  I’d only be talking to a few people.  I’d get to level 70 and get my epic mount in no time at all.  I’d miss out on the fun sad quests like when I got to put the tainted treents out of their misery.  Ok, I got frustrated trying to kill the guy in the crypt at the end of the Blood Elf area but when I finally got him it felt great!

I’d miss out on the jerls I swear at, the annoying gold farmers, the cool new friends I didn’t expect to make, and the old friends I love to talk to.  No battlegrounds.  No big raids.  I just don’t get the appeal.  I tried to explain why this seemed pointless to me but he didn’t seem to understand.  I think for him it was really about beating the game.  For me it’s all about having fun and a private server like that would suck all the fun out of the game.

~ by tsukikoh on April 10, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
